It is important that businesses correctly determine whether individuals that work for them are independent contractors (1099) or employees (W-2). In a nutshell, employers generally do not have to withhold or pay taxes for independent contractors.
Effective January 1, 2021, New Jersey’s general minimum wage will increase to $12 per hour. The minimum base wage for tipped employees will increase to $4.13 per hour.
The following specific minimum wages apply:
A new $900 billion coronavirus relief bill became law and answers the question of whether federal Emergency Paid Sick Leave (EPSL) and Emergency Family and Medical Leave (EFMLA) will be extended.
35% of U.S. workers are now involved with part-time “gigs” and it looks as if the trend is going to continue into 2020 and beyond. But with that growth, expect new regulations that both protect and limit the use of gig workers.
USA Payroll has been working with clients to ensure they comply with all of the reporting, tracking and communication requirements of the new paid sick leave law. Here are a few of the most frequently asked questions by New Jersey employers: